Artlet.jpg

More Essays & Commentary

yonder.jpg2013

“Holiday Stories of Faith and Fantasy.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/holiday-stories-faith-and-fantasy/2013/12/23/7069, 2013.

“JFK’s Rural Development Legacy.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/jfks-rural-development-legacy/2013/11/08/6906, 2013.

“For One Small Town, the Curtain Rises.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/curtain-rises-one-small-town/2013/10/10/6851, 2013.

“Every Valley Shall Be Exalted.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/every-valley-shall-be-exalted/2013/08/28/6729#comments, 2013.

“Speak Your Piece: Rural Policy’s Dog Days.”  http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-rural-policy-dog-days/2013/08/12/6694, 2013.

“What’s Your Definition of Rural?” http://www.dailyyonder.com/toward-new-rural-definition/2013/04/15/5785, 2013.

“Deep Development as Government Shrinks.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/developing-governments-shrink/2013/03/20/5727, 2013.

“What's Haunting Rural High Schools?” http://www.dailyyonder.com/whats-haunting-rural-high-schools/2013/02/15/5660, 2013.

“Beyond These Hills: Leaving Appalachia.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/beyond-these-hills-leaving-appalachia/2013/01/22/5600, 2013.

2012

“The Blizzard of '12: We Made It,” http://www.dailyyonder.com/blizzard-12-we-made-it/2012/12/23/5557, 2012.

“Rural Social Activism, Born in a Stable.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/rural-social-activism-manger/2012/12/17/5546#comment-4204, 2012.

“For Rest, Recreation, Memory, and Beauty.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/custodians-rest-recreation-and-beauty/2012/11/20/5502, 2012.

“Two Fine River Towns Flow into Uncertainty.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/two-river-towns-course-uncertainty/2012/10/22/4601#comment-2876, 2012.

“The Shot Heard 'Round the Seasons.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/silent-spring/2012/09/13/4430, 2012.

“A Plan for Rural Illinois.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/plan-rural-illinois/2012/09/07/4411, 2012.

“40 Embattled Years of Rural Development.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/40-embattled-years-rural-development/2012/08/27/4369, 2012.

“Indiana Spurs Small Towns to Set a Course.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/stellar-indiana-program-spurs-small-towns-plan/2012/08/12/4272, 2012.

“Speak Your Piece: Balancing on the Poor.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-balancing-poor/2012/07/12/4186, 2012.

 “Creative Ideas for Making Common Core State Educational Standards Work.” http://www.ruralfutureslab.blogspot.com/, August 6, 2012.

“Nicked Knuckles: For the Love of a Model A.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/my-model-love-hate-and-barked-knuckes/2012/07/03/4154, 2012.

“Speak Your Piece: Farm Bill Blues.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-farm-bill-blues/2012/06/15/4098, 2012.

“Memorial Day 2012.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/memorial-day-2012/2012/05/28/4041, 2012.

“Speak Your Piece: Serious Stewardship.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-soil-v-land-stewardship/2012/05/16/4023, 2012.

“Illinois Plan Won't Make Schools Consolidate.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/illinois-plan-wont-require-school-consolidation/2012/04/20/3928, 2012.

“Speak Your Piece: Manufacturing Dreams.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-manufacturinghere-we-go-again/2012/04/09/3881, 2012.

“Piecing together the Farm Bill Puzzle.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/puzzling-toward-farm-bill-illinois/2012/03/28/3831, 2012.

“Metro-Agrarians Seek Their Day in the Sun.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/city-farming/2012/03/09/3803, 2012.

“The Great Blizzard of February 1.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/great-blizzard/2012/01/31/3733, 2012.

“Reaching Out on Rural & Regional Issues: (An Online) Work in Progress.”  

http://ruralfutureslab.blogspot.com/2012/01/reaching-out-on-rural-regional-issues.html, 2012.

“When a Socialist's Book Swayed the Nation.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/socialist-presidents-bookshelf/2012/01/04/3667, 2012.

2011

“The Tao of Andy Griffith.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/where-have-you-gone-barney-fife/2011/12/02/3624, 2011.

“Alchemy in Scottsburg, Indiana.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/alchemy-scottsburg-indiana/2011/11/10/3595, 2011.

“A Federal Recipe for Rural Pessimism.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/recipe-pessimism/2011/11/01/3582, 2011.

“A Grownup Look at the Suburbs.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/grownup-look-suburbs/2011/10/03/3549, 2011.

“Late Summer's Lammas, Ready for Harvest.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/first-signs-fall/2011/09/07/3509, 2011.

“On the Road with a Connoisseur of Sunsets.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/rural-route-connoisseur-sunsets/2011/08/15/3477, 2011.

“Rural Development: An Oceanic Approach.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/rural-change-oceanic-approach/2011/07/22/3439, 2011.

“Tale of Two Pictures.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/tale-two-pictures/2011/07/06/3416, 2011.

“This Land Is Whose Land?” http://www.dailyyonder.com/land-whose-land/2011/06/12/3372, 2011.

“Speak Your Piece: Breaching the Levee.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-breeching-levee/2011/05/05/3311, 2011.

“A Son Returns to 'The Mother Road.'”  http://www.dailyyonder.com/son-returns-mother-road/2011/05/02/3303, 2011.

“The Return of the Emiquon.”  http://www.dailyyonder.com/return-emiquon/2011/04/27/3294. 2011.

“When the Town Owns the Forest.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/when-communty-owns-forest/2011/03/18/3236. 2011.

“Define Rural before You Budget for It.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/define-rural-you-budget-it/2011/02/28/3205. 2011.

“A Child's Cup: The Rural Recession.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/childs-cup-rural-recession/2011/02/11/3173/, 2011.

“Saving the Soul of a Barn.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/vernacular-architecture/2011/01/11/3120. 2011.

2010

“The Bounty of Fallow Time.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/bounty-fallow-time/2010/11/29/3058, 2010.

“How Rural Listeners Caught a Wave.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/90-years-airwaves/2010/11/16/3041, 2010.

“’Nowhere’ Is Really ‘Somewhere.’” http://www.dailyyonder.com/nowhere-really-somewhere/2010/10/08/2983, 2010.

“Forgottonia.”  http://www.dailyyonder.com/forgottonia/2010/09/27/2963, 2010.

“Local Food Boom Should Yield Rural Fruit.”  http://www.dailyyonder.com/small-towns-reclaim-urban-farming/2010/09/20/2945, 2010.

“Community Developers, the Hour’s Late.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/collins-what-uk-community-has-teach/2010/08/17/2894, 2010.

“Consolidation, What Is It Good For?” http://www.dailyyonder.com/consolidation-what-it-good/2010/06/22/2810, 2010.

“A Rural Superintendent and School Consolidation.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/rural-superintendent-and-consolidation/2010/06/17/2800, 2010.

“Will Rural Summit Be End or Beginning?” http://www.dailyyonder.com/what-was-said-rural-summit/2010/06/07/2784, 2010.

“A Plan for Rural's Future Takes Shape.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/rural-partners/2010/05/21/2759, 2010.

“Speak Your Piece: Seven Rural Capitals.”  http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-seven-rural-capitals/2010/03/31/2669, 2010.

“The Place Where He Left Himself.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/where-land-suits-my-disposition/2010/03/10/2630,  2010.

“Bare Trees Tell on the Free Market.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/tim-collins-winter/2010/02/17/2594, 2010.

 “Local Power: Let's Be Smarter This Time.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/local-power-lets-be-smarter-time/2010/01/05/2522, 2010.

2009

“Harvesting the Dark and Bright.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/harvesting-dark-and-bright/2009/11/26/2472, 2009.

“Speak Your Piece: Longer School Year, and Better.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-longer-school-year-and-better/2009/10/30/2421, 2009.

“Becky and Oscar Have Been My Amenities.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/becky-and-oscar-have-been-my-amenities/2009/08/30/2319, 2009.

“You’re Not from Around This Watershed, Are You?” http://www.dailyyonder.com/youre-not-around-watershed-are-you/2009/08/07/2277, 2009.

 “Confessions of a Little League Dad.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/confessions-little-league-dad/2009/07/18/2211, 2009.

 “Country Life Movement – Miles to Go.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/country-life-movement-miles-go/2009/06/24/2189, 2009.

 “Rural Entrepreneurs v. Straw Men.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/rural-entrepreneurs-v-straw-men/2009/06/10/2164, 2009.

 “Earthtrepreneurship.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/earthtrepreneurship/2009/05/14/2118, 2009.

 “Bring Back the Interurban.”  http://www.dailyyonder.com/bring-back-interurban/2009/04/03/2040, 2009.

 “There’s Opportunity for Rural in ‘Reglobalization.’” http://www.dailyyonder.com/theres-opportunity-rural-reglobalization/2009/03/14/1990, 2009.

 “Speak Your Piece: Let’s Get Disaster-Wise.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-lets-get-disaster-wise/2009/03/03/1967, 2009.

 “Speak Your Piece: The Future of Urban and Rural America are Linked.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-future-urban-and-rural-america-are-linked/2009/01/13/1842, 2009.

2008

 “Rural Schools Need to Train Rural Stewards.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/rural-schools-need-train-rural-stewards, 2008.

 “Rural IT: Let's Look Beyond Friday Night Lights.”  http://www.dailyyonder.com/rural-it-lets-look-beyond-friday-night-lights, 2008.

 “Speak Your Piece: More Than A New Coat of Paint.” http://www.dailyyonder.com/speak-your-piece-more-new-coat-paint, 2008.